Around the League

Playoff seeds set in dramatic fashion, Wild-card round schedule announced

The NFL’s playoff seeds and first-round matchups were set in dramatic fashion on Sunday.

Buffalo got the final postseason berth when Cincinnati stunned Baltimore. The Bengals scored on a fourth-and-12 play when Andy Dalton hooked up with Tyler Boyd for a 49-yard score with 53 seconds remaining. The unlikely outcome scrambled the postseason picture for five AFC teams: Baltimore, Buffalo, Jacksonville, Kansas City and Tennessee.

The Bills will be in the playoffs for the first time since 1999. They had the longest postseason drought of any pro team in North America.

The Titans earned the other AFC wild-card spot by beating the Jaguars.

New Orleans won the NFC South despite losing at Tampa Bay in the final minute. It was the only division race unsettled going into Sunday. Fellow NFL South teams Carolina and Atlanta earned NFC wild cards.

Baltimore (9-7) and the Los Angeles Chargers (9-7) were eliminated in the AFC. Seattle (9-7) missed out in the NFC.


1. New England (13-3)

2. Pittsburgh (13-3)

3. Jacksonville (10-6)

4. Kansas City (10-6)

5. Tennessee (9-7)

6. Buffalo (9-7)


1. Philadelphia (13-3)

2. Minnesota (13-3)

3. Los Angeles Rams (11-5)

4. New Orleans (11-5)

5. Carolina (11-5)

6. Atlanta (10-6)

The top two seeds in each conference get byes, leaving other eight teams to play next weekend in the Wild-Card Round that will feature a prime-time marquee matchup in Los Angeles Saturday night when the NFC West champion Los Angeles Rams host the Atlanta Falcons at 8:15 p.m. ET on NBC, the league announced Sunday night.

Here is the complete opening weekend playoff schedule:


Tennessee Titans at Kansas City Chiefs, 4:35 p.m. ET (ESPN/ABC)

Atlanta Falcons at Los Angeles Rams, 8:15 p.m. ET (NBC)


Buffalo Bills at Jacksonville Jaguars, 1 p.m. ET (CBS)

Carolina Panthers at New Orleans Saints, 4:40 p.m. ET (FOX)

Leave a Comment

The Latest

To Top